Complacent

utah-woman-quicksand

What is it in me

That’s so afraid to change?

I know I need to move on.

Why can’t i rearrange?

What is it inside

That keeps holding me back

I fight so hard to make up for

All of the things that I lack

What was once apart of me

Now feels dead and hollow

Embarrassed for the whole world to see

That I always follow

I’m lost among a sea of people

And yet still I try to hide

It’s as if I feel they’d break me

If they got a glimpse of what’s inside

I grow tired of my complacency

I want to drift away

But I’m always tethered here

Much to my dismay

Leave a Reply

